Hello out there…

Happy Australia Day. !

Well, well, well. You have stumbled across my blog and probably want to know what I’m going on about?

Let me fill in a few details. Over the past 24 hours I have had two discussions with unrelated friends, who both suggested that I should start this blog. It is an attempt to document and put a human face over someone who is so involved in the MG season this year.

For those who dont know me, I am the current Co-Chair of New Mardi Gras (the company that produces the season). I c0-lead, with a guy called Nick Parker, a board of 8 directors who ensure the good governance and strategic direction of the annual festival.

I want this blog to be a little “behind the scenes”. Something a bit different and more than anything, my perspective of the season and what I think.

Sometimes interesting and exciting, yet sometimes I will occasionally wander into the banal 🙂

I can neither confirm nor deny that Kylie is playing party – if you read between the lines you may just get a clue of two! Feel free to comment, ask questions or have your say – but please be aware this is my personal blog. I will not be speaking/typing on behalf of the organisation here.

I will be hitting the keyboard on behalf of me!

It is only 25 days until all of us here at Mardi Gras launch the 2010 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras season. I can tell you that the offices in Oxford street are really humming with people, ideas and small rumbles 🙂 But that is the Gras we love and it looks set to be a stellar season, with lots of new stuff to do and experience.

To start things off, here is the cover art from our guide with the fabulous Rocco D’Amore (Drag King extraodinaire) in an homage to the iconic Tom of Finland imagery. There is a series of 4 or 5 of these pieces of art yet to come for the season. Each one depicts a famous character from our history. Which incidentally is the theme for this year. History of the World! Well, our GLBTQ world, that is.

It’s a great job that I get to do, even though it’s a volunteer role.  I never get tired of serving my community in this way. I think out of all the things I have done in my life, this would be one of those that I am most proud.

Welcome to season 2010 (a behind the scenes view).

About mgsteph

Mardi Gras Blog
This entry was posted in Drag King, Kylie, Mardi Gras, Nick, Theme. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello out there…

  1. Kings says:

    Congrats on the blog it’s a fantastic idea! Just one correction- Rocco is a Melbourne based drag king having moved there several years ago. While he does perform in Sydney he is most well known for hosting and perfoming in Melbourne. This doesn’t take away from the awesome cover art and having drag kings represented in such a visual out there way.

  2. mgsteph says:

    Hey there, Thanks for that. Need to get my fact checker on board 🙂 Will edit accordingly. And Yes, the cover art is awesome.

Leave a Reply

