Thoughts of the Base

Although my email is far from complete, I have managed to achieve some big things today. Clear some of the backlog, and contribute to some of the newer issues that our board and the CEO face every day in this organisation.

Running through my mind today is how I signed up to participate in Spencer Tunick’s installation of  “The Base” for this years festival.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I have a particular phobia around my body. I guess one of the reasons for doing this is to accept who I am and do it anyway. Isn’t that what Mardi Gras is all about? Being proud enough to shed all the layers and just be who you truly are?

There is still time to sign up for this once-in-a-lifetime experience. You will also receive a limited edition print of the work featuring a nude you!

I’m really proud of this event. It shows our festival is coming of age, and including renowned artists such as Spencer can only keep pushing it forward.

Sign up now:  http://www.mardigras.org.au/tunick/ and remember the great words of the artist himself:

I’m off to the gym now. My trainer (take no prisoners Lisa Bilton) is getting me into shape for the season. With Spencer looming, who am I to complain?

About mgsteph

Mardi Gras Blog
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts of the Base

  1. Malcolm in Sydney says:

    All of us can do with some toning for Spencer although you could be as lucky as a fellow board member and his husband who both managed to catch a little bit of gastroenteritis in Delhi and lost almost 10 kilos between them.

  2. I am so So SO looking forward to this! So much naked gay!

Leave a Reply

