Why I won’t be speaking at the Mardi Gras AGM tomorrow

Image from Women Say Something by Kellie Lafranchi

It has been said that sacred cows make the best hamburgers. So, If the boards I’ve sat on over the past 3 years have done their job properly, they leave behind a legacy of governance, policy and process that allows our CEO to report on the activities of the organisation over the past year.

It is appropriate that our treasurer report on the financial outcome and for the returning co-chair to define the strategic vision of the company moving forward.

This will all happen tomorrow at our Annual General Meeting at 1pm.

So, with that in mind, I think it’s time to kill a sacred cow this year and do away with the exiting co-chairs speech at the AGM.

Why? Because All I have to say is contained in the infrastructure and vision left behind.

As it should be.

The CEO and boards I have worked with over the past 3 years have spent countless hours defining the best practices in governance, transparency and accountability. Spent many hours defining the vision and strategic plans for the organisation and the steps needed to get there. There is nothing I could say tomorrow that would add to these, or alter the plans that the incoming board are starting to form.

I ask the incoming board to respect the policies and hard work that previous boards and working groups have constructed before them and build on the successes already within the organisation.

I ask them to remember our organisation belongs to all our communities. A community which is diverse and wide with many different minorities and issues and I ask them to make decisions based on all of them, not just one.

I wish the incoming board the best for board unity, community engagement and a profitable season in 2011-2012.

This is my last Blog as Co-Chair of New Mardi Gras. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone I have worked with over the past 3 years, in particular my fellow directors and our CEO. It’s been simultaneously challenging and rewarding and I am left with a lifetime of memories and pride.

About mgsteph

Mardi Gras Blog
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, organisation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I won’t be speaking at the Mardi Gras AGM tomorrow

  1. simone says:

    Congrats Steph on your hard work, may your retirement be enjoyable and your weekends free 🙂

Leave a Reply

